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Internet Advertisement – Revenue Model
CPM (Cost Per Mille) or CPT (Cost Per Thousand Impressions):

is when advertisers pay for exposure of their message to a specific audience. "Per mille" means per thousand impressions, or loads of an advertisement. However, some impressions may not be counted, such as a reload or internal user action

CPV (Cost Per Visitor):

is when advertisers pay for the delivery of a Targeted Visitor to the advertisers website.

CPV (Cost Per View):

is when advertisers pay for the delivery of a Targeted Visitor to the advertisers website.

CPC (Cost Per Click) or PPC (Pay per click):

is when advertisers pay each time a user clicks on their listing and is redirected to their website. They do not actually pay for the listing, but only when the listing is clicked on. This system allows advertising specialists to refine searches and gain information about their market. Under the Pay per click pricing system, advertisers pay for the right to be listed under a series of target rich words that direct relevant traffic to their website, and pay only when someone clicks on their listing which links directly to their website. CPC differs from CPV in that each click is paid for regardless of whether the user makes it to the target site.

CPL (Cost Per Lead):

advertising is performance based and is common in the affiliate marketing sector of the business. In this payment scheme, the publisher takes all the risk of running the ad, and the advertiser pays only for the number of users who complete a transaction, such as a purchase or sign-up. This model ignores any inefficiency in the seller's web site conversion funnel. The following are common variants of CPA:.

CPA (Cost Per Action or Cost Per Acquisition) or PPF (Pay Per Performance):

advertising is identical to CPA advertising and is based on the user completing a form, registering for a newsletter or some other action that the merchant feels will lead to a sale.

CPS (Cost Per Sale), PPS (Pay Per Sale), or CPO (Cost Per Order):

advertising is based on each time a sale is made.

eCPM: Effective CPM or eCPM:

calculated through other conversion events such as Cost per Clicks, Cost per Downloads, Cost per Leads etc. for example when an advertiser getting $2 per download and for 100,000 impressions you received 10 downloads worth $20, in this case your effective CPM or eCPM will be 2*20*1000/100,000= $0.4

Fixed Cost:

Advertiser paying fixed cost for delivery frame by campaign flight dates without any relevance to performance

Cost per conversion:

Describes the cost of acquiring a customer, typically calculated by dividing the total cost of an ad campaign by the number of conversions. The definition of "Conversion" varies depending on the situation: it is sometimes considered to be a lead, a sale, or a purchase

Advertising Formats
Display Advertising:

Describes the cost of acquiring a customer, typically calculated by dividing the total cost of an ad campaign by the number of conversions. The definition of "Conversion" varies depending on the situation: it is sometimes considered to be a lead, a sale, or a purchase

Sponsorship:

Represents custom content and/or experiences created for an advertiser which may or may not include ad elements such as display advertising, brand logos, advertorial or pre-roll video. Sponsorships fall into several categories: • Spotlights are custom built pages incorporating an advertiser's brand and housing a collection of content usually around a theme;

• Advergaming can range from an advertiser buying all the ad units around a game or a "sponsored by" link to creating a custom branded game experience;

• Content & Section Sponsorship is when an advertiser exclusively sponsors a particular section of the site or email (usually existing content) re-skinned with the advertiser's branding;

• Sweepstakes & Contests can range from branded sweepstakes on the site to a full-fledge branded contest with submissions and judging

Email Banner ads:

: links or advertiser sponsorships that appear in email newsletters, email marketing campaigns and other commercial email communications. Includes all types of electronic mail (e.g., basic text or HTML-enabled).

Search Fees:

advertisers pay Internet companies to list and/or link their company site domain name to a specific search word or phrase (includes paid search revenues). Search categories include:

• Paid listings—text links appear at the top or side of search results for specific keywords. The more a marketer pays, the higher the position it gets. Marketers only pay when a user clicks on the text link.

• Contextual search—text links appear in an article based on the context of the content, instead of a usersubmitted keyword. Payment only occurs when the link is clicked.

• Paid inclusion—guarantees that a marketer's URL is indexed by a search engine. The listing is determined by the engine's search algorithms.

• Site optimization—modifies a site to make it easier for search engines to automatically index the site and hopefully result in better placement in results.

Lead generation:

Fees advertisers pay to Internet advertising companies that refer qualified purchase inquiries (e.g., auto dealers which pay a fee in exchange for receiving a qualified purchase inquiry online) or provide consumer information (demographic, contact, behavioral) where the consumer opts into being contacted by a marketer (email, postal, telephone, fax). These processes are priced on a performance basis (e.g., cost-per-action, -lead or -inquiry), and can include user applications (e.g., for a credit card), surveys, contests (e.g., sweepstakes) or registrations.

Classifieds and auctions:

Fees advertisers pay Internet companies to list specific products or services (e.g., online job boards and employment listings, real estate listings, automotive listings, auction-based listings, yellow pages).

Rich media:

Advertisements that incorporate animation, sound, and/or interactivity in any format. It can be used either singularly or in combination with the following technologies: sound, Flash, and with programming languages such as Java, JavaScript, and DHTML. It is deployed via standardWeb and wireless applications including e-mail, static (e.g. .html) and dynamic (e.g. .asp)Web pages, and may appear in ad formats such as banners, buttons and interstitials. Interstitials are included in the rich media category and represent full- or partial-page text and image server-push advertisements which appear in the transition between two pages of content. Forms of interstitials can include splash screens, page takeovers and pop-up windows.

Digital Video Commercials:

TV-like advertisements that may appear as in-page video commercials or before, during, and/or after a variety of content in a player environment including but not limited to, streaming video, animation, gaming, and music video content. This definition includes digital video commercials that appear in live, archived and downloadable streaming content.

Mobile Advertising:

Advertising tailored to and delivered through wireless mobile devices such as smartphones (e.g. Blackberry, iPhone, Android), feature phones (e.g. lower-end mobile phones capable of accessing mobile content), and media tablets (e.g. iPad, Samsung Galaxy Tab). Typically taking the form of static or rich media display ads, text messaging ads, search ads, or audio/video spots, such advertising generally appears within mobile websites (e.g. websites optimized for viewing on mobile devices), mobile applications (e.g. applications for smartphones running iOS, Android, or other operating systems, or Java or BREWapplications), text messaging services (i.e. SMS,MMS) or within mobile search results (i.e., 411 listings, directories, mobile-optimized search engines). Mobile advertising revenues are currently reported within the above pre-existing advertising formats, but have been estimated and identified individually within this report.

Ways of generating Ad Revenue from website

There are three primary ways to generate revenue from a website:

E-commerce:

receive profits from direct sales of products or services.

Affiliate marketing:

receive referral fees from merchants when a product or service you linked to results in a sale as a result of your link.

Advertising:

receive ad revenue for displaying advertising on your website, blog, or e-mail newsletter. It's the third approach that we'll be exploring in this article.

Basic principles of the advertising industry:

1. Higher priced products and services can afford to pay more for advertising than low-priced industries.

2. Only targeted advertising will ever be clicked on. If you put an electronic product banner ad on a charity website, you won't sell much. Untargeted advertising sells for perhaps 50 cents per 1,000 page views or less.

3. Advertising is priced on supply and demand. Right now there is an unlimited supply of webpages on the Internet. But if there is a demand for your site and you get a lot of targeted traffic and your site has a valuable target audience then you'll be automatically noticed by advertisers.

Steps to generate ad revenue:

1. Provide a quality content centered around a commercially viable industry Unless your website is related to an industry that is commercially viable, the chances are you won't be able to make much money on advertising. Simply speaking, advertisers will only pay you for advertising if it helps them make money.

Not only do you need a commercial field, you must also provide high quality content because:

1. You won't get much attention if people don't learn from your website. If they learn, they're more likely to return.

2. The Google algorithms tends to give lower rankings to websites with poor content, measured by such things as bounce rate, and evidence of "scraping" or duplication of something on another site.

3. Internet is hyper competitive field and users are getting more sophisticated and won't settle for mediocre content. They'll leave quickly if they don't find what they're looking for.

4. Optimize your content on high-priced keywords. You can use the Google AdWords Keyword Tool to find out what keywords get the highest bids in your niche. Take help of a professional expert in this field.

You optimize your content in two primary ways. 1. Keyword focus: Select the two or three dozen highest priced keywords in your industry or niche. Then write content about these topics.

2. Keyword placement:. Put high-priced keywords (wherever appropriate) in your title tags, subheadings, hyperlinks etc.

It's not enough to have great content. You'll want to focus your efforts on the most profitable topics, and then make sure your content is indexed correctly by the search engines for these profitable keywords.

3. Generate lots of traffic on the website

Unless you have lots and lots of traffic to your website, you won't make much money through advertising. There are mainly three ways to get traffic to your website:

1. Search Rankings: Get highly ranked on the search engines for your keywords.

2. Links: Get links and recommendations to your website from other sites, blogs, social media, directories, etc.

3. Advertise: Pay for advertising to get people to your site. If you were to try to sell advertising directly, one of the first questions their media buyers will ask you is what is your monthly number of unique visitors or pageviews? Unless you have good numbers, they won't pursue you. Get the traffic and you may begin to attract interested advertisers.

4. Determine the kind of advertising that is selling in this niche

If you're pursuing an advertising revenue strategy for your site, you will have to look at the competitive websites to see what makes them good — and to determine how you can be even better.

Type and Size of Advertising: is most of the advertizing in your industry; are text ads or display ads (that is, graphic ads)? If display ads are popular, what size appears most often?

The Internet Advertising Bureau (IAB) lists seven standard ad units (dimensions in pixels are in parentheses):

• Medium Rectangle (300 x 250) • Rectangle (180 x 150)

• Leaderboard (728 x 90)

• Skyscraper (160 x 600)

• Half Page Ad (300 x 600)

• Button 2 (120 x 60)

• Microbar (88 x 31)

Source of Advertising: Now look deeper to determine the source of advertising. Most third-party ads have two URLs.

1. Intermediate URL of the ad server: the ad server is the company that displays the ad as well as counting and collecting information on the click-through, then redirects the user's web browser to the…

2. Destination URL on the landing page of the advertiser's website, where the Internet user is supposed to end up.

If you can figure out what the ad server company is, you can learn something about the advertising type. The intermediate URL can sometimes be seen by putting your cursor over the ad (without clicking) and looking for a URL at the bottom left of your web browser frame. However, some types of ad technologies don't disclose the intermediate URL — and it's hard to see in the URL in the bar at the top of your browser, since it redirects so fast.

5. Design your webpage template for advertising

You should design your webpage template to accommodate the most popular ad sizes. Be careful not to so overload your webpage template so it looks odd. Don't be greedy. A few ads designed to fit nicely on your webpage will achieve a professional appearance without looking overdone. And only the most prominent ads will get many click-throughs anyway.

6. Consider Google AdSense text and display advertising

Google is the biggest advertising company on the Internet. Their AdWords ads that appear on search results generate a huge amount of revenue for the company. But you can put Google AdSense ads on your own website. To learn more, see https://google/adsense/

The advantage of AdSense ads is that Google tries hard to display only ads that are relevant to the keywords on your webpage. Also, they have millions of advertisers, many of whom are finding good results advertising on sites like yours. You don't have to find the advertisers. Google does it for you.

This can be an ideal solution for many small business sites. Since the ads are targeted according to your content, they command a higher bid price than untargeted ads.

Also experiment with display ads (image ads) through Google AdSense

7. Display ads from ad and affiliate networks

Second kind of advertising source are networks beyond Google. There are two main types of networks: ad networks and affiliate networks.

Ad networks: These are companies that you contract with to display their clients' ads on your website. They may pay you on a CPM basis (perhaps 50 cents to several dollars per thousand ad displays — or less), or they may pay on a Cost Per Click basis. Search on "ad networks" and you'll find lists of these networks. Some ad networks are focused primarily on one sector; others offer ads across many industries.

Affiliate networks: Affiliate networks like offer display ads from many advertisers. The major difference from ad networks is that, while ad networks usually pay on a CPM or CPC basis, affiliate networks tend to pay primarily on a CPA (cost per action) basis, when a purchase or lead results from the click. You can typically choose the ad and ad sizes you want to display on your site as well as the advertisers you think will provide the best revenue for you. However, the individual advertiser may want to approve your site before allowing you to place its ads on your site

8. Consider employing a sales representative to sell CPM ads

If you're finding good success in earning advertising revenue on your site, you might consider employing an agency to act as a sales representative to seek advertisers for your site. Sales representatives are advertising professionals who are able to work out CPM deals directly with prime advertisers' media buyers. If you have a relatively lucrative advertising potential, this may the best way to get the most money for your ads.

However, getting a sales representative has three potential downsides:

1. Good sales representatives won't even consider working with you if you don't have a lot of traffic and potential for a lot of ad sales revenue.

2. Good sales representatives demand a hefty percentage of the overall ad revenue for their services.

3. Finding a good, hard-working, productive sales representative for your company is a hit-and-miss venture. You may have to try several sales representatives before finding the one that is a good fit for your company.

9. Advertising Network:

An online advertising network is a company that connects advertisers to websites that want to host advertisements. The key function of an ad network is the aggregation of ad space supply from publishers and its matching with advertiser demand. The phrase "ad network" by itself is media-neutral in the sense that there can be a Television Ad Network or a Print Ad Network, but is increasingly used to mean Online ad network as the effect of aggregation of publisher ad space and sale to advertisers is most commonly seen in the online space.
The fundamental difference between traditional media ad networks and online ad networks is that online ad networks use a central Ad server to deliver advertisements to consumers, which enables targeting, tracking and reporting of impressions in ways not possible with analog media alternatives.

10. Banner advertising:

One thing to know about banner advertising (sometimes referred to as display advertising) is that the more times that your ads are displayed to a greater number of people, the more familiar your company and business will become to prospective customers. This is called building brand awareness. All the best and most successful businesses know that on an average you generally need to make as many as 4 - 7 impressions on a person's mind before their awareness will begin to warm up to the idea of making a purchase or trying a product or service

10. Ad Server:

An ad server is a computer server, specifically a web server, that stores advertisements used in online marketing and delivers them to website visitors. The content of the web server is constantly updated so that the website or webpage on which the ads are displayed contains new advertisements—e.g., banners (static images/animations) or text—when the site or page is visited or refreshed by a user. The purpose of ad serving is to deliver targeted ads that match the website visitor's interest.
Ad serving describes the technology and service that places advertisements on websites. Ad serving technology companies provide software to websites and advertisers to serve ads, count them, choose the ads that will make the website or advertiser the most money, and monitor progress of different advertising campaigns.
Ad serving also performs various other tasks like counting the number of impressions/clicks for an ad campaign and report generation, which helps in determining the ROI for an advertiser on a particular website.

11. Affinity Marketing:

Any marketing effort including email promotions, banners or offline media aimed at consumers on the basis of established buying patterns. For example, a book store might send an email advertisement to all customers who had previously bought mystery books with a headline of "New mystery books released this week."

12. Blind Traffic:

Blind traffic describes visitors who arrive at a website after clicking on a misleading link, for example, a link saying "Continued" at the bottom of an article. Believe it or not, some websites pay for such misleading, low quality blind traffic, and some website owners have such little respect for their visitors, they're prepared to deceive them in this way.

13. Click Through:

The action of clicking on a banner and having ones browser automatically redirected to the web page a banner is hyperlinked to. The percentage of impressions that resulted in a click through is calculated by dividing the number of clicks by the number of impressions. For example, if a banner was clicked on 13 times after being displayed 1000 times, the banner would have a click rate of ( 13 ÷1000 = .013 ) 1.3%. This is also commonly known as a banners click rate.

14. Dark Site:

A dark website is a pre-made, non-visible website which can be activated online when a particular crisis occurs. It is one of the most common and useful tools in any crisis management strategy and is one of the must-have policies in consumer sectors such as larger airlines, food/beverage companies, pharmaceuticals, financial enterprises and so on. It is common for most companies to have several; all of them customized according to certain vulnerabilities and corporate risks. They store written-in-advance news releases, pictures, official statements and other background information, as the specific details will only be added right before their release. The dark site can be placed on a separate domain, be a distinct section of the main website or totally replace the original. It could be saved on any of the corporate servers or be kept safely on a preferred external device.

15. B2C and B2B:

One might argue that the line between B2C (Business to Consumer) and B2B (Business to Business) marketing is blurry when it comes to online marketing. B2C and B2B marketers essentially use the same kinds of tactics which, increasingly, rely on social media.
But B2B marketers, it seems, have become masters at content marketing, which can be broadly defined as the creation and distribution of compelling content in order to attract, engage, and retain customers. The latest report on the subject, "B2B Content Marketing: 2012 Benchmarks, Budgets, and Trends," developed and conducted by Content Marketing Institute and Marketing Profs, indicates that 9 out of 10 B2B marketers actively use content marketing. The study is based on a survey of 1,092 B2B marketers worldwide with the majority from North America.
While B2B marketers are committed to content creation, they deliver the content in different ways. The most popular content delivery tactics, according to the study, are article posting, social media excluding blogs, eNewsletters, case studies, in-person events, videos, and white papers. Some of the other means for content delivery include webinars, micro sites, eBooks, and podcasts. Content marketing is most widely used by companies in professional services (94%), computing/software (93%), advertising/marketing (89%), and healthcare (89%.)
B2B marketers spend about 26% of their total marketing budgets on content marketing initiatives. However, smaller companies tend to spend a greater percentage of their budget on content marketing than larger companies. Over half (62%) of all B2B marketers say they will spend more money on content marketing in 2012.

agency:

An advertising company that represents other companies by providing advertising related services such as planning, creating, buying and tracking an advertisement on behalf of their client.
Account Managers create customized performance based campaigns for clients, by setting up full affiliate programs or by creating campaigns.
Affiliate programs are slightly different than ad campaign requests. For affiliate programs, various ad formats, including text links, logos, and promotional/branding banner ads, are made available through affiliate networks to be run by publishers on a 100% performance base.
Adapting to a fast-changing online marketing landscape, today Publishers (affiliates) and Advertisers (merchants) are working together on mobile commerce, social marketing, daily deal strategies – you name it – if a new opportunity arises to drive revenue, the Affiliate Marketing industry is likely to seize it!.

agency Discount:

A discount, normally equal to 15%, that is offered to advertising agencies that place an order on behalf of their clients. Many large companies establish their own in house agency in order to qualify for the discount when they place the advertisements directly. 4 Most Successful and Popular Internet Business Models: If you want to be successful in any kind of business then you must have an evolved business model. It is a fact that any evolved or sophisticated business model is not created in just one day. Business models are not software programs where you give the input and a program gives you the output. In fact, business models take years and years of evolution time and then it becomes perfect to implement and even replicate. Here, we are concerned about the Internet business or online business. These all are well-established business models, so let us follow them one by one

affiliate Marketing:
First successful model is affiliate marketing. Affiliate marketing is nothing but where you sell some products taken from affiliate networks to people on the Internet. For every sale you make, you get a commission and every month you are paid from your affiliate network. This is the best model because you do not need to have any product. You can choose any one product from various affiliate networks and start selling. However, one thing you have to keep in mind that selling would not be that easy because you need to know the art of persuasion. Therefore, writing skills like creating sales pages are very important. You can make a lot of money with affiliate marketing if you are able to sell products on a daily basis. Hence, always try to find out what people are searching online and how you can help them through your products.
blogging:
Blogging is the next most successful and popular business model. Choose a niche or topic of your choice and start blogging about it. To get daily inspiration you can subscribe to mainstream media, YouTube, Twitter and follow popular people who are related to the topic of your blog.
ecommerce:
Ecommerce is nothing but buying and selling at websites. Millions of people come daily on websites to buy all kinds of products. You can sell your own product if you have one. The most important part is creating a full-fledged sales letter that explains everything about the product. Do not forget to show images of your product.
ezine & EBook Publishing:
The fourth and last successful business model would be Ezine or EBook publishing. Ezine is nothing but articles. This is just like running a newspaper or a magazine. You have to create content on a daily basis for your publication.
How to earn money with Affiliate Programs?
It doesn't matter what type of business you're in, there's no doubt that you can make more money when you include an affiliate program in your system. This article will discuss several ways in which you can make money with affiliate programs.
Sell other people's products: You can become an affiliate of practically any program you desire, and promote the affiliate link to make commissions. Some programs require that you become a customer first, and in that instance you'll have used the product yourself, so it should be easier to sell.
As an affiliate, you will be required to sign up and agree to the terms and conditions of the site. Whenever someone buys the product you're promoting through your link, you will make the agreed commission rate on the product, and be paid within the agreed time frame.
Most programs offer marketing materials that you can use to promote your affiliate link, like banners, ad copy, graphic, creative tools and more. Becoming an affiliate is a fast way to start making money online, and is an attractive proposal for many who are new to the Internet and want to create extra income.

Start your own affiliate program: If you have a membership site, a service site, or a product-oriented website, you can easily create your own affiliate program for your site visitors to sign up to. When you have your own affiliate program, it's important to provide quality marketing tools for your affiliate, and to train them to promote your products responsibly. By keeping in contact with your affiliates, you will build a relationship with them, and they will be more likely to promote your products/services.

Super affiliates: You might have come across this term before, and they are the affiliates that make outstanding numbers of sales and generate high conversions. These are the perfect type of people to attract to your affiliate program. You can find them at the top of referral contest results, or leader boards online.

Joint ventures: Once you become experienced and more confident with affiliate programs and the way they work, you should be able to start joint venturing with business associates, website owners of similar niche-related websites, and even your competition. Cross-promotions are a common way to joint venture, where each party promotes the other partner's website using their affiliate link. You can also joint venture with list owners for a higher commission rate, or extra. This is a very powerful way to promote your products and make more sales. There's no doubt that leveraging your time and effort in this way makes it worthwhile, because it's easy to make money with affiliate programs.
23. Online Reviews:
The 2012 Consumer Review Survey found that 72% of consumers trust online reviews. This means that 72% of people are swayed by the reviews they find on your business, products or services. Many companies are realizing the amount of emphasis that consumers are putting on consumer reviews. Today's consumers are not impulse buyers, they are researchers, and they will spend a solid amount of time researching different products and services as well as businesses to ensure that they are making the best purchasing decision
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